Research Guides: Streaming Media: Find Music &amp; Audio

Streaming music

Access streaming audio through these library databases or online resources:

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of streaming classical music, including jazz, world music, spoken word, and more.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming jazz recordings that includes nearly 11,000 titles.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical music recordings (14,000+ albums) including vocal, choral, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental music, and opera.
Popular Music Library This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in world pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks, and many more.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
In partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

American Folklife Center. Library of Congress
American vernacular songs and stories from the Library of Congress collections.

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly resource of recordings including New World, Composers Recordings (CRI), Albany Records, Mode, Frog Peak and BMOP.
American Music This link opens in a new window
Nearly 7,000 albums of music from America's past, including civil rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, wars, and more.
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming access to world music, with a focus on contemporary genres.

Global Music Archive (Vanderbilt University. Wilson Music Library)
A multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.

More sources for streaming audio:

British Library Sounds
(British Library) English accents, oral histories, drama, literature, music.
CHARM: Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music
(Royal Holloway, University of London; King's College, London; University of Sheffield) Library of "ex-copyright recordings," discographies, recording history, and recording analysis tool.
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
(UC Santa Barbara. Davidson Library. Department of Special Collections) Historical recordings before 1923 or music in all genres.
D. K. Wilgus Folksong Collection
(UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive) American folk music, stories, and and field recordings.
Frontera Collection of Mexican American Music
Approximately 40,000 recordings of music from the border regions of Mexico and the United States. These performances document many types of popular lyric songs, including the first recordings of corridos (narrative ballads on topics of the day), canciones, boleros, rancheras, and sones, including the first recordings of norteno and conjunto music.
Judaica Sound Archives
The Judaica Sound Archives is a major center for the collection, preservation and digitization of Judaica audio recordings. The JSA is located in the Wimberly Library on the Boca Raton campus of Florida Atlantic University.
National Juke Box
(Library of Congress) Historical recordings of American music in all genres.
Phonobase
Early gramophone records and cylinders from France and Europe.
Virtual Gramophone
From the Library and Archives Canada; early recordings from Canada.