BLST/HIST/LLAS 201: Power and Resistance in the Black Atlantic

Find images in books by searching the Five College Library catalog (see Tip below). The library also subscribes to a variety of image databases and is the home of Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC), a repository of images, texts, videos, and more from the Amherst College Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.

Access digital images through these library databases or online resources:

Tip: Searching for images in the Five College Libraries

Library records for books with illustrations contain the word "illustrations". Target illustrated works in a search of the Library catalog by including illustrations, “pictorial works”, plates, or “color plates” along with your other search term(s). For example, looking for images of birds? Search for birds AND illustrations.

Tip: Searching for "hidden" images in article databases

Many indexes and multidisciplinary databases will allow you to limit your search search to articles containing images, photographs, or illustrations. Look for options to select such as "search within captions" or "search by illustration type". You can also find images in these resources by using keywords such as "illustration" in your search.

For more about finding and using images, visit the Images guide.

Find CDs in the Vincent Morgan Music Library, located on the second floor of the Music Building. Most other recording formats, including phonograph records (LPs) and cassettes, are housed at the AC Depository, available by request through the library catalog (click "Request Item"). The Morgan Music Library also has listening stations for records, cassettes, and CDs.

Access streaming audio through these library databases or online resources:

Tip: Searching for music & audio in the Five College Libraries

Use the Books & Media tab on the Amherst Library Quick Search box to search for music and other audio materials by keyword, title, author, or subject, making sure to include "sound recording" as one of your search terms. Your results will include digital as well as physical audio. Check Call Numbers and Availability to see where something is located and whether it's currently checked out.

Find DVD, Blu-ray, and VHS formats on A Level of Frost Library, behind the IT help desk. There are also viewing stations in this area, if you want to watch at the library.

Access streaming video through these library databases or online resources:

Tip: Searching for Film & Video in the Five College Libraries

Use the Amherst Library Search box  to search for materials by keyword, title, author, or subject, making sure to include "films" or "video" as a search term when looking for film and video. Check Availability in the search results to see where something's located and if it's currently checked out.

You may use work in the public domain, without seeking permission, so long as your use is not defamatory or in violation of other laws unrelated to copyright.

For more on Copyright, see the Copyright & Fair Use page.

You may use work in the public domain, without seeking permission, so long as your use is not defamatory or in violation of other laws unrelated to copyright.

For more on Copyright, see the Copyright & Fair Use page.

• Amherst College Digital Collections
  Open access repository for digitized archival collections from Amherst College Archives & Special Collections. Digitized images include photographs, manuscripts, books, and more.
• AP Images
  Contemporary and historical news and culture photographs from Associated Press. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, Associated Press news stories from 1997 forward, and a collection of maps, charts/graphs, logos, illustrations).
• Creative Commons Free Music Archive
  Royalty free and public domain music.
• Public Domain Review's media collections
  Audio from the Public Domain Review, a journal dedicated to works in the public domain
  
• Open Culture
  Free cultural and educational media, including special collections of Oscar-winning movies, and films by Andrei Tarkovsky, Charlie Chaplin, and others.

• Internet Archive
  Digital movies uploaded by Archive users 

• Moving Image Archive
  Online archive of films, documentaries, educational films, industrial films, home movies, news reels, advertisements and more. Also includes the Prelinger Archives
• Open Vault
  WGBH (Boston) public radio and television station's Media Library and Archives, with video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools
• European Film Gateway
  Access to film and film-related treasures collected and preserved by 16 European film archives, including photos, posters, programs, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials
• Duke Digital Collections
  American photographs, advertising, and texts from the 1850s through the 1950s
• Early Visual Media Online
  Online Media Museum of “intriguing and mostly forgotten Early Vintage Visual Media