Research Librarian
Reference Sources
Below are links to reference sources and collections that are most useful for this subject:
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowDigitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new windowScholarly surveys of authors, literary history, culture, and philosophy.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowProvides political, economic and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Europa World This link opens in a new windowEconomic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias - Latin American HistoryPeer-reviewed, long-form articles written by leading scholars working on Latin American History.
- AFI Catalog This link opens in a new windowProduction and cast information plus extensive plot summaries for American films from 1893-1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2011.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new windowDetails on thousands of films from the silent era to the latest blockbusters, with searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.