Research Guides: Incubator: Find Articles

General

SciTech Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Web of Science (1984 to present) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of journals across the sciences and social sciences and track cited references to locate more recent articles. Amherst subscribes to the Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index.

SciFinder (1907 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals in all areas of chemistry.

AGRICOLA (1970 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles and reports from the National Agriculture Library.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) (1960 to present) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing access to the international literature in agricultural and environmental science.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full-text research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology for the life histories of all bird species and families; brings together Birds of North America, the Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World along with Macauley Library media and eBird data.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
A community-contributed database that lets herbaria share their plant type specimens, experts determine and update plant names, and students discover and learn about plants in context.
PubMed (1966 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core biomedical index; includes MEDLINE and links to molecular biology databases.

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,083,464 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

MathSciNet (1940 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals in mathematics, includes article reviews.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in math and statistics.

ACM Digital Library (1947 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and conference papers from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
CiteSeer This link opens in a new window
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
INSPEC (1969 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index of publications in all areas of physics, engineering, and computer sciences.

INSPEC (1969 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index of publications in all areas of physics, engineering, and computer sciences.
NASA Astrophysics Data System (1502 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index of resources covering the disciplines of astronomy and physics.

ASTRO-PH (arxiv)
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

Discover: Start here for books, articles & more This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search research databases plus the Five Colleges Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books, and more.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals