Research Guides: COLQ-345: Migrant Lives: Find Articles

Start With These

These core databases in Black studies, history, and history of medicine are good places to start!

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
PubMed (1966 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core biomedical index; includes MEDLINE and links to molecular biology databases.
Web of Science (1984 to present) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of journals across the sciences and social sciences and track cited references to locate more recent articles. Amherst subscribes to the Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index.
Black Studies This link opens in a new window
This database combines multi-format primary and secondary sources, like historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, videos, scholarly journals, essays and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (1926 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals