Research Librarian
Reference Databases
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new windowScholarly surveys of authors, literary history, culture, and philosophy.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowProvides political, economic and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database (1972 to present) This link opens in a new windowIndex of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new windowHundreds of entries on critics and theorists, schools, and movements.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text critical studies, biographies of authors; covers all genres, all time periods, and all regions.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowDigitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, long-form articles written by leading scholars; our access includes American History, Latin American History, Politics, and International Studies.
Reference Books
Some examples of potentially useful reference sources (some are e-books, others are print books located on Level 1 of Frost)
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by
For more information including the introduction, a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample pages and more, visit the Encyclope dia of 20th Century Architecture website. Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. Unlike existing works, this encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries.
Call Number: NA680 .E495 2004Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by
Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to 1999.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 1999
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature [2 Volumes] by
Spanish literature includes some of the world's greatest works and authors. It is also one of the most widely studied. This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though the volume focuses on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries for numerous topics related to Spanish literature, including literary periods and genres, significant characters and character types, major authors and works, and various specialized topics. Each entry discusses how the topic relates to women's studies. Entries for male authors discuss their attitudes toward women. Female writers are considered for the restrictive cultural contexts in which they wrote. Specific works are examined for their representations of female characters and their handling of women's issues. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and closes with a brief bibliography. The volume concludes with a list of works for further reading.
Call Number: PQ6055 .F46 2002Publication Date: 2002
Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Civil War by
The tragedy that devastated Spain for 33 months from July 1936 to April 1939, was, first and foremost, a brutal fratricidal conflict, the product of the fatal clash between diametrically opposed views of Spain and an attempt to settle crucial issues which had divided Spaniards for generations: agrarian reform, recognition of the identity of the historical regions (Catalonia, the Basque Country), and the roles of the Catholic Church and the armed forces in a modern state. Being a war between Spaniards, it was particularly brutal, but it was also part of the broader move toward war in Europe and thus sucked in many "volunteers" from abroad. And it left a deep imprint since General Francisco Franco remained at the helm of the country until his death in 1975. The Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Civil war covers the history of the war, first through a long chronology, which highlights the major steps from the incubation to the conclusion. The overall situation is summed up in the introduction. Then the dictionary section fleshes it out, with over 600 entries on persons, places, events, institutions, battles, and campaigns. More reading can be found in an extensive bibliography. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Spanish Civil War.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2013
World Fascism [2 Volumes] by
This book shows how, during the 20th century, evils such as totalitarianism, tyranny, war, and genocide became indelibly linked to the fascist cause, and examines the enduring and popular appeal of the ideology.
Call Number: JC481 .W67 2006Publication Date: 2006
