ENST-220/HIST-104: Environmental Issues of the 19th Century

Full-text, searchable content from a broad range of 19th-century sources in literature, politics, theater, music, religion, maps, science, and childhood

Primary source materials (including broadsides and pamphlets, serials, and monographs) tracing British and US economic history from 1450-1914.

The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.

Fully searchable digital archive of documents ranging from the mid-18th to the mid-20th century.

Combined search of the historic Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, South China Morning Post, Times of India, and Washington Post.

Searchable archive of American newspapers including Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).

Searchable archive of regional and local British newspapers published between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states and chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.

Starting with Freedom's Journal in 1827, the database will eventually contain all major African-American newspapers published in the U.S. during the 19th century.

English-language newspapers published in China; spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.

Fully searchable digitized collection of 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers, including 66 titles from 22 islands

More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in Central and South America between 1805-1922.

Provides a 20th century historical and cultural perspective of countries in the Middle East and North Africa

News and analysis from ethnic popular and scholarly publications.

Covers alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines.

Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

News in translation (by the CIA) from radio, television, and newspapers around the world.

Comprehensive collection of early American periodicals, with coverage of advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 18th and 19th century newspapers and periodicals.

Searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th, with high-resolution facsimile page images.

Searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.

Preservation repository of full-text books & journals that allows comprehensive searching, downloading of public-domain books, and specialized services for text-mining projects. Choose Amherst College from the list of institutions to log in and get access to additional features and tools.