Research Guides: Asian Languages & Civilizations Research Guide: Find Articles

Start With These

These core Asian Languages & Civilizations databases are good places to start!

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1973 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and books in Asian Studies, including humanities and social sciences.
Index Islamicus (1906 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa.

China Academic Journals (1994 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 7,200 journals in mainland China, including core journals and specialty journals. Amherst has a full-text subscription to the Humanities portion. Chinese interface
China Law Info / Law Info China (1949 to present) This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of Chinese laws, regulations and cases in Chinese (Chinalawinfo) and English/Chinese (Lawinfochina, English interface version accessible from main menu of database).
CiNii Research This link opens in a new window
A free database with abstracts and limited full text from academic journals, books, and dissertations, as well as entries for research data sets. Formerly known as CiNii Articles, CiNii Books, and CiNii Dissertations.
JapanKnowledge Lib (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
Collection of dictionaries and encyclopedia, full-text articles, video files, maps, images.
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Detabesu (1868 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes.

These databases intersect with your discipline -- try these also!

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 to present) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (1926 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals