Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.
Political Science Dictionaries
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by This bestselling dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations.
Political Science Encyclopedias
The Oxford Companion to American Politics by The two-volume Oxford Companion to American Politics is the first reference work to provide detailed, in-depth coverage of all aspects of American Politics. Long entries form the core of the book, covering such topics as climate change, terrorism, welfare policies, nuclear proliferation, voting behavior, and think tanks.
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics by Comparativists apply various theories and concepts to analyze the similarities and differences between political units, using the results of their research to develop causalities and generalizations. Each of these theories and outcomes are thoroughly defined in the Companion, as are major resultant conclusions, those comparativists who have influenced the field in significant ways, and politicians whose administrations have shaped the evaluation of contrasting governments.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History by The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History brings together, in one authoritative reference work, an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history.
Money in American Politics by Call Number: AC Frost Reference JK1726 .M63 2018How much does money really matter in American politics? A first-of-its-kind reference book, this encyclopedia provides the most up-to-date research and analysis regarding how money affects American campaigns, elections, politics, and public policy.
Multi-Subject Encyclopedias
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, long-form articles written by leading scholars; our access includes American History, Latin American History, Politics, and International Studies.
- Europa World This link opens in a new windowEconomic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies; our access includes Latino Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new windowScholarly surveys of all aspects of social sciences.