Librarian
Reference Works
The Library has large collections of online and print reference works. Below are links to the collections that are most useful for this subject:
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Call Number: Reference GN502 .E63 2006Publication Date: 2006Includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Topics are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.
Handbook of Addictive Disorders (ebook) by Publication Date: 2004Discusses the contemporary issues surrounding the understanding of addiction, from diagnosis to treatment of an addicted client. Presents an overview of addictive disorders coupled with strategies for accurately diagnosing them, planning effective treatment, and selecting appropriate interventions.
APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology by Call Number: GV706.4 .A64 2019Publication Date: 2019Provides extensive coverage of conceptual frameworks and models, empirical findings, and practical interventions in sport and exercise psychology. Additionally, many chapters discuss topics not addressed in other publications, such as attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, sleep disorders, life-span engagement in sport and physical activity, and professional ethics and governance.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by Call Number: (In Print at UMass): BF176 .A63 2013Publication Date: 2013A comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education.
- Encyclopedia of Social Measurement This link opens in a new windowCovers all core social-science disciplines and presents a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new windowScholarly surveys of all aspects of social sciences.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarship and fields in the social sciences.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.
Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.