Research Librarian
Reference Works
The Library has large collections of online and print reference works. Below are links to the collections that are most useful for this subject:
Historical Dictionary of Russian Literature (Ebook) by Call Number: Print copy in Reference: PG2940 .S76 2013ISBN: 9780810873858Publication Date: 2013Contains a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 100 cross-referenced entries on significant people, themes, critical issues, and the most significant genres that have formed Russian Literature.
Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Cinema by Call Number: Reference PN1998.2 .R578 2016ISBN: 9781442268418Publication Date: 2016-07-20Contains a chronology, an introduction, and a bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries on directors, performers, cinematographers, composers, designers, producers, and studios.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new windowScholarly surveys of authors, literary history, culture, and philosophy.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowProvides political, economic and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Dictionaries
Oxford Russian Dictionary by Call Number: PG2640 .W5 2007ISBN: 9780198614203Publication Date: 2007-05-28Includes more than 185,000 new words and phrases and 300,000 translations.
Russian-English Dictionary of Idioms (Ebook) by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780300163773Publication Date: 2014-01-28Includes close to 14,000 idioms, set expressions, and sayings found in contemporary colloquial Russian and in literature from the nineteenth century to the present.
Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.