Research Guides: Biochemistry & Biophysics Research Guide: Find Articles

Start With These

These core Biology, Chemistry, and Physics databases are good places to start!

PubMed (1966 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core biomedical index; includes MEDLINE and links to molecular biology databases.
SciFinder (1907 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals in all areas of chemistry.
SciTech Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Web of Science (1984 to present) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of journals across the sciences and social sciences and track cited references to locate more recent articles. Amherst subscribes to the Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index.

WebCSD (Cambridge Structural Database) This link opens in a new window
Online repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures, containing over one million structures from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses and accurate 3D structures (Amherst College login required).
INSPEC (1969 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index of publications in all areas of physics, engineering, and computer sciences.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals