Research Librarian
Start With These
These databases are good places to start!
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index (1970 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (1935 to present) This link opens in a new windowBibliography on Latin America covering social sciences and the humanities.
- SciELOSciELO is the biggest portal for Global South countries in Latin America and Africa of their scientific research. It is an open access project so all articles are freely available.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (1926 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
- Political Science Database (ProQuest) (1985 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from leading political science and international relations journals.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and cultural studies.
- America, History & Life (1964 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
More Library Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
- GenderWatch (1970 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull text of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959 to present) This link opens in a new windowNews and analysis from ethnic popular and scholarly publications.
Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.