Research Guides: Art & the History of Art Research Guide: Find Materials information & context

Background and Technical Information sources

Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online (AAT)
Definitions for and information about terms related to art, architecture, and archaeology.

Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
Provides information on a wide range of current and historical materials and techniques in both traditional and nontraditional media.
Reference Universe
Searchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.

US Geological Survey (USGS) National Minerals Information Center
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, national security, and protection of the environment.
CAMEO Materials Database
Searchable database of chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials. From the Conservation and Art Materials Encyclopedia Online (CAMEO)

Oxford Art Online
Access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present.

Materiology by Daniel Kula; Élodie Ternaux; Quentin Hirsinger (Contribution by)
The Artist's Handbook of Materials and Techniques by Ralph Mayer
Call Number: Frost Library N7430 .F8413 2006
Artists' Techniques and Materials by Antonella Fuga
Call Number: AC Frost N7430 .F8413 2006
Artists' Pigments by Robert L. Feller (Editor)
How Glass Changed the World: : the history and chemistry of glass from antiquity to the 13th Century by Seth C. Rasmussen
ISBN: 9783642281839
Material Matters: Creative Interpretations of Common Materials by Victionary
Call Number: AC Frost. N8530 .M377 2019

Art in the Making by Glenn Adamson
Call Number: AC Frost. N7430 .A32 2016
Materiality by Daniel Miller (Editor)
Call Number: AC Frost GN406 .M38 2005
Materiality by Petra Lange-Berndt (Editor)
Call Number: AC Frost. N6490 .M337 2015
Why Materials Matter by Seetal Solanki
Call Number: UM Du Bois NK1520 .S65 2018

JSTOR
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
Art & Architecture Source (1914 to present)
Index covering fine arts, decorative, and commercial art, and architecture and architectural design. includes full-text coverage for several hundred titles, including OA journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934 to present)
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (1973 to present)
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.