Find DVD, Blu-ray, and VHS formats on A Level of Frost Library, behind the IT help desk. There are also viewing stations in this area, if you want to watch at the library. Access streaming video through these library databases or online resources:
Use the Books & Media tab on the Amherst Library Quick Search box to search for materials by keyword, title, author, or subject, making sure to include the format as a search term. Check Call Numbers and Availability to see where something's located and if it's currently checked out.
Find images in books by searching the Five College Library catalog (see Tip below). The library also subscribes to a variety of image databases and is the home of Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC), a repository of images, texts, videos, and more from the Amherst College Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.
Library records for books with illustrations contain the word "illustrations". Target illustrated works in a search of the Library catalog by including illustrations, “pictorial works”, plates, or “color plates” along with your other search term(s). For example, looking for images of birds? Search for birds AND illustrations.
Many indexes and multidisciplinary databases will allow you to limit your search search to articles containing images, photographs, or illustrations. Look for options to select such as "search within captions" or "search by illustration type". You can also find images in these resources by using keywords such as "illustration" in your search.
For more about finding and using images, visit the Images guide.