Research Guides: Education Studies Research Guide: Find Articles

Tip: Peer-reviewed articles

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals

These core Education databases are good places to start!

ERIC (1966 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core resource for research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Education Database (ProQuest) (1988 to present) This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
PsycInfo (1887 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers the academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, sociology, education, and other areas.

Review of Educational Research
The Review of Educational Research publishes full-length theoretical, methodological, and historical reviews of current topics in education.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 3,600 journals in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and sciences.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951 to present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 3,000 journals and 7,000 books per year.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education.