Research Librarian
Alana Kumbier
they/them or she/her
Contact:
Frost Library
413-542-5454
Subjects: Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations, Black Studies, Chinese, Classics, History, Japanese, Philosophy
Start With These
This core History database is a good place to start!
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1973 to present) This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles and books in Asian Studies, including humanities and social sciences.
More Library Databases
- Academic Search Premier (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 3,600 journals in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and sciences.
- America, History & Life (1964 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
- Index Islamicus (1906 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa.
- PAIS Index (1972 to present) This link opens in a new windowCoverage of articles, selected books, government documents, research reports, and more from a wide range of social sciences.
- China Academic Journals (1994 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from 7,200 journals in mainland China, including core journals and specialty journals. Amherst has a full-text subscription to the Humanities portion. Chinese interface
- NelitiIndex of journal articles, books, research reports, policy papers, conference papers and datasets from Indonesian and Asian universities, government bodies, corporate publishers, and think tanks.
Tip: Peer-reviewed articles
Peer-reviewed articles are:
- written by experts in the field
- assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
- published in scholarly journals