Skip to main content Research Guides | Library | Amherst College

History - Asia Research Guide

Find Film & Video

Find DVD, Blu-ray, and VHS formats on A Level of Frost Library, behind the IT help desk. There are also viewing stations in this area, if you want to watch at the library.

Access streaming video through these library databases or online resources:

Tip: Searching for Film & Video in the Five College Libraries

Use the Books & Media tab on the Amherst Library Quick Search box  to search for materials by keyword, title, author, or subject, making sure to include the format as a search term. Check Call Numbers and Availability to see where something's located and if it's currently checked out.

Find Music & Audio

Find CDs in the Vincent Morgan Music Library, located on the second floor of the Music Building. Most other recording formats, including phonograph records (LPs) and cassettes, are housed at the AC Depository, available by request through the library catalog (click "Request Item"). The Morgan Music Library also has listening stations for records, cassettes, and CDs.

Access streaming audio through these library databases or online resources:

Tip: Searching for music & audio in the Five College Libraries

Use the Books & Media tab on the Amherst Library Quick Search box to search for music and other audio materials by keyword, title, author, or subject, making sure to include "sound recording" as one of your search terms. Your results will include digital as well as physical audio. Check Call Numbers and Availability to see where something is located and whether it's currently checked out.

Find Images

Find images in books by searching the Five College Library catalog (see Tip below). The library also subscribes to a variety of image databases and is the home of Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC), a repository of images, texts, videos, and more from the Amherst College Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.

Access digital images through these library databases or online resources:

Tip: Searching for images in the Five College Libraries

Library records for books with illustrations contain the word "illustrations". Target illustrated works in a search of the Library catalog by including illustrations, “pictorial works”, plates, or “color plates” along with your other search term(s). For example, looking for images of birds? Search for birds AND illustrations.

Tip: Searching for "hidden" images in article databases

Many indexes and multidisciplinary databases will allow you to limit your search search to articles containing images, photographs, or illustrations. Look for options to select such as "search within captions" or "search by illustration type". You can also find images in these resources by using keywords such as "illustration" in your search.

 

For more about finding and using images, visit the Image Research Guide.