Find Articles - History - Latin America and the Caribbean Research Guide

Start With These

These core databases for Latin American historical research are good places to start!

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index (1970 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
Handbook of Latin American Studies (1935 to present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography on Latin America covering social sciences and the humanities.
America, History & Life (1964 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core database for the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Academic Search Premier (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 3,600 journals in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and sciences.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951 to present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 3,000 journals and 7,000 books per year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
Women's Studies International (1972 to present) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, covering the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals