Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides | Library | Amherst College

Art - African and Diaspora Art Research Guide

Museum Collections

Find images of works in museums by searching their online collection databases. Many also include additional contextual information about artists, art movements, materials, and techniques.

Five Colleges Museums Collections Database
Images of and information about cataloged works from the collections of the Mead Art Museum at Amherst, Hampshire College Art Gallery, Mount Holyoke College Art Museum, Joseph Allen Skinner Museum of Mount Holyoke College, the Smith College Museum of Art, and the University Museum of Contemporary Art at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Fowler Museum at UCLA
The Arts of Africa and the African Diaspora collection at the Fowler Museum is one of the world's premier collections of African art.

Museum for African Art
The Museum for African Art is dedicated to the arts and cultures of Africa and the African Diaspora.

National Museum of African Art
This site is a great resource for images, and you can connect to the catalog of the Warren M. Robbins Library. The library "...is the major resource center in the world for the research and study of the visual arts of Africa. It houses more than 32,000 volumes on African art, history and culture."

Smithsonian Institution Collection
Search over six million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.

Museum of the African Diaspora
Exhibitions focusing on the African Diapora across history

Archives Nationales d'Haiti - Digital Library of the Caribbean

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

National Museum of African Art (Smithsonian)

Searchable images, data, and robust contextual information.

Phoebe Hearst Museum of Anthropology

Collections from Nigeria and other areas of West and Central Africa, including wood sculpture, basketry and pottery, musical instruments, brass castings and other metalwork, and textiles. The largest single cultural collection comes from the Yoruba of Nigeria—numbering about 1,300 items—making it one of the largest and most comprehensive in North America.

Art Institute of Chicago

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Brooklyn Museum

Metropolitan Museum of Art