Research Librarian
Reference Sources
Below are links to reference sources and collections that are most useful for this subject:
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.
- Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new windowEssential reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music.
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowEssays and images for study of all forms of black music: blues, spirituals, jazz, rap, and more.
- OnMusic DictionaryOnline free disctionary for music
- MGG Online (Musik In Geschichte Und Gegenwart) This link opens in a new windowGeneral encyclopedia of music covering every aspect of music and related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new windowAn account of the evolution of western music by Richard Taruskin.
- Encyclopedia of popular musicEncyclopedia of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
- OperaGlassInformation on many operas including libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses, discographies and role creators.
- Music IDGlobal music industry data
Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.