French 366 - Food Fights

Food-related Collections

• Patrimoine gourmand
  A collection of digitized posters, photographs, paintings, menus, maps, cookbooks, magazines, and advertisements, from the Bibliothèque nationale.
• Favre, Joseph. Dictionnaire universel de cuisine pratique: Tome 1-Tome 4 (1905).
  An inventory, classified in alphabetical order, of culinary terminology; biographies of famous cooks; and the history of foods and their place in the French diet, with recipes.
• Google Books Public Domain books on French Cuisine
• Hathi Trust Food Studies Collection 

• Culinary History Collection - Digitized Rare Books - Virginia Tech University Libraries
  Browse a list of digitized rare books from the Culinary History Collection at Virgina Tech University Libraries that are available as pdfs

• CIA Menu Collection
  The Culinary Institute of America’s special collection of 30,000 historical menus includes menus from CIA restaurants and donations from major menu collectors

• EUVS Vintage Cocktail Books
  The E.U.V.S, or Exposition Universelle des Vins et Spiritueux, refers to a Museum create by Paul Ricard in Bendor Island in south of France. The Museum is dedicated to the History of Wines and Spirits with a beautiful collection of Old Bottles from around the world and Vintage Cocktail Books. This is the on-line access to the EUVS Vintage Cocktail Books Collection.

Collections organized by era

• Making of the Modern World (1450-1914) 

  Primary source materials (including broadsides and pamphlets, serials, and monographs) tracing British and US economic history from 1450-1914.

• Electronic Enlightenment (18th century) 

  Full text of over 53,000 letters and documents from the best critical editions.

• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) (1701-1800)

  Page images and full-text searching for more than 136,000 key English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

• Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) (1780-1925)

  Full-text, searchable content from a broad range of 19th-century sources in literature, politics, theater, music, religion, maps, science, and childhood

• Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800)

  Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.

• Early American Imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)

  Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Collections organized by geographic region

• dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean 

  Maps, oral histories, legal documents, books and other sources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.

• Digital Public Library of America 

  Catalog of public domain and openly licensed images and other digitized materials from archives, libraries, museums, and other U.S. cultural heritage institutions.

• EuroDocs 

  Guide to digitized European collections organized by country. Covers the Medieval era to the present. From Harold Lee Library, Brigham Young University.

• Oxford Islamic Studies Online 

  Interdisciplinary reference content and commentary, plus Quranic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Includes Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and other core reference works on Islam.

• South Asia Archive 
  Fully searchable digital archive of documents ranging from the mid-18th to the mid-20th century.

These databases have collections of newspapers published generally pre-1990, often digitized from print or microfilm. They are searchable, but be aware that the results won't be as accurate as born-digital newspapers.

Find news and media sources from roughly the mid-1980s to today in these databases. You can also search for a newspaper by title in our journal locator.