Research Librarian
Alana Kumbier
they/them or she/her
Contact:
Frost Library
413-542-5454
Subjects: Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations, Black Studies, Chinese, Classics, History, Japanese, Philosophy
Digitized Archival Collections
- The Boston Public Schools Desegregation CollectionThe Collection brings together materials from numerous Boston-area institutions and covers the time period beginning with the Brown v. Board of Education (1954) and focusing on the Morgan v. Hennigan case (1974) and the court-ordered plan to desegregate the Boston Public Schools (BPS). The collections document the implementation of busing students to different neighborhoods to rebalance the racial makeup of schools, the resulting citywide unrest, and developments in Boston school desegregation efforts in the following decades.
- Education Reporting on Public TelevisionThis online exhibit highlights documentaries, news magazines, talk shows, and special reports, from the American Archive of Public Broadcasting.
- School Desegregation in the Southern and Border StatesSchool Desegregation in the Southern and Border States is a series of reports compiled between 1956 - 1968 by the Southern Education Reporting Services. These reports provide statistics and information about desegregation of public schools in Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington District of Columbia, and West Virginia.
Historical Newspapers
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCombined search of the historic Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, South China Morning Post, Times of India, and Washington Post.
- African American Newspapers (Readex) (1827-1998) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states and chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
- Nexis Uni (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new windowFull-text federal and state laws, international legal materials, and law reviews. Also newspapers, business information, and company profiles.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1980) This link opens in a new windowSearchable archive of American newspapers including Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).