Research Guides: LJST 346: Law's Classifications: Find Journal Articles

Law Databases

These core databases are good places to find law reviews, case law, or legal news.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text legal materials back to volume 1, historic English law and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
Nexis Uni (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
Full-text federal and state laws, international legal materials, and law reviews. Also newspapers, business information, and company profiles.
WestLaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Federal and state laws, law reviews, legal encyclopedias, and dictionaries, as well as newspapers and the European Union Library.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) (1981 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers academic literature on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Use these databases to find articles on the intersection of law with other fields.

ERIC (1966 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core resource for research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
GenderWatch (1970 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full text of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) (1985 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from leading political science and international relations journals.
PsycInfo (1887 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers the academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, sociology, education, and other areas.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) (1985 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals