Research Librarian
Alana Kumbier
they/them or she/her
Contact:
Frost Library
413-542-5454
Subjects: Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations, Black Studies, Chinese, Classics, History, Japanese, Philosophy
Start With These
These core history and gender studies databases are good places to find peer-reviewed articles.
- America, History & Life (1964 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Women's Studies International (1972 to present) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, covering the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Multi-Subject Databases
These databases include work from researchers in a number of academic fields. They can be particularly helpful for interdisciplinary research.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and cultural studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
- ProQuest Search Platform This link opens in a new windowCross-searches all content from the Library's subscribed ProQuest databases
- Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers academic literature for disciplines ranging from anthropology, sociology, and political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics, and more.