Research Librarian
Start With These
These core history databases are good places to start!
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (1926 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index (1970 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts.
More Library Databases
- Academic Search Premier (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 3,600 journals in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and sciences.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959 to present) This link opens in a new windowNews and analysis from ethnic popular and scholarly publications.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
- ProQuest Search Platform This link opens in a new windowCross-searches all content from the Library's subscribed ProQuest databases