Listening to Salsa (ebook) by
Portrays the complex politics of gender, sex, class, and race in Puerto Rican salsa music. Winner of the MLA's Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize for an outstanding book published in English in the field of Latin American and Spanish literatures and culture (1999) Winner of IASPM's 1999 Woody Guthrie Award For Anglos, the pulsing beats of salsa, merengue, and bolero are a compelling expression of Latino/a culture, but few outsiders comprehend the music's implications in larger social terms. Frances R. Aparicio places this music in context by combining the approaches of musicology and sociology with literary, cultural, Latino, and women's studies. She offers a detailed genealogy of Afro-Caribbean music in Puerto Rico, comparing it to selected Puerto Rican literary texts, then looks both at how Latinos/as in the US have used salsa to reaffirm their cultural identities and how Anglos have eroticized and depoliticized it in their adaptations. Aparicio's detailed examination of lyrics shows how these songs articulate issues of gender, desire, and conflict, and her interviews with Latinas/os reveal how they listen to salsa and the meanings they find in it. What results is a comprehensive view "that deploys both musical and literary texts as equally significant cultural voices in exploring larger questions about the power of discourse, gender relations, intercultural desire, race, ethnicity, and class."
Music in the Hispanic Caribbean by
** Music in the Hispanic Caribbean is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. ** The Spanish-speaking islands of Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Dominican Republic make up a relatively small region, but their musical and cultural traditions have had a dramatic, sweeping impact on the world. The first brief, stand-alone volume to explore the music of these three islands, Music in the Hispanic Caribbean provides a vibrant introduction to diverse musical styles including salsa, merengue, reggaeton, plena, Latin jazz, and the bolero. Ethnomusicologist Robin Moore employs three themes in his survey of Hispanic Caribbean music: the cultural legacy of the slave trade, the creolization of Caribbean musical styles, and diaspora, migration, and movement. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's traditional musical genres as well as its more contemporary forms. The author draws on his extensive regional fieldwork, offering accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, and vivid illustrations. A compelling, comprehensive review, Music in the Hispanic Caribbean is ideal for introductory undergraduate courses in world music or ethnomusicology and for upper-level courses on Caribbean and Latin American music and/or culture. Packaged with a 70-minute CD containing musical examples, the text features numerous listening activities that actively engage students with the music. The companion website includes supplementary materials for instructors.
Music of Latin America and the Caribbean by
The Music of Latin America and the Caribbean is the first text written on the rich musical heritage of this region specifically for the non-music major. The text is arranged by region, focusing on the major countries/regions (Mexico, Brazil, Peru, etc. in Latin America and Jamaica, the Virgin Islands, Haiti, etc. in the Caribbean). In each chapter, the author gives a complete history of the region's music, ranging from classical and classical-influenced styles to folk and traditional music to today's popular music.
Music in Mexico by
The complex legacy of Mexico's ethnic past and geographic location have shaped the country and its culture. In Music in Mexico, Alejandro L. Madrid uses extensive fieldwork, interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, and vivid illustrations to guide students through modern-day music practices. Applying three themes - ethnic identity, migration, and media influences - the text explores the music that Mexicans grow up listening to and shows how these traditions are the result of long-standing transnational dialogues. Packaged with a 40-minute audio CD containing musical examples, the text features numerous listening activities that engage students with the music. Music in Mexico is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. Visit a href="http://www.us.oup.com/us/companion.websites/umbrella/globalmusic/?view=us a"www.oup.com/us/globalmusic/a for a list of case studies in the Global Music Series. The website also includes instructional material to accompany each study.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by 
Latin Music by
This definitive two-volume encyclopedia of Latin music spans 5 centuries and 25 countries, showcasing musicians from Celia Cruz to Plácido Domingo and describing dozens of rhythms and essential themes.Eight years in the making, Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes is the definitive work on the topic, providing an unparalleled resource for students and scholars of music, Latino culture, Hispanic civilization, popular culture, and Latin American countries. Comprising work from nearly 50 contributors from Spain, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the United States, this two-volume work showcases how Latin music--regardless of its specific form or cultural origins--is the passionate expression of a people in constant dialogue with the world.The entries in this expansive encyclopedia range over topics as diverse as musical instruments, record cover art, festivals and celebrations, the institution of slavery, feminism, and patriotism. The music, traditions, and history of more than two dozen countries--such as Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Spain, and Venezuela--are detailed, allowing readers to see past common stereotypes and appreciate the many different forms of this broadly defined art form.
Cumbia! (ebook) by
Cumbia is a musical form that originated in northern Colombia and then spread throughout Latin America and wherever Latin Americans travel and settle. It has become one of the most popular musical genre in the Americas. Its popularity is largely due to its stylistic flexibility. Cumbia absorbs and mixes with the local musical styles it encounters. Known for its appeal to workers, the music takes on different styles and meanings from place to place, and even, as the contributors to this collection show, from person to person. Cumbia is a different music among the working classes of northern Mexico, Latin American immigrants in New York City, Andean migrants to Lima, and upper-class Colombians, who now see the music that they once disdained as a source of national prestige. The contributors to this collection look at particular manifestations of cumbia through their disciplinary lenses of musicology, sociology, history, anthropology, linguistics, and literary criticism. Taken together, their essays highlight how intersecting forms of identity--such as nation, region, class, race, ethnicity, and gender--are negotiated through interaction with the music. Contributors. Cristian Alarcón, Jorge Arévalo Mateus, Leonardo D'Amico, Héctor Fernández L'Hoeste, Alejandro L. Madrid, Kathryn Metz, José Juan Olvera Gudiño, Cathy Ragland, Pablo Semán, Joshua Tucker, Matthew J. Van Hoose, Pablo Vila
Cuerpo y Cultura by
El presente estudio examina el papel central del baile en la conformacion de las identidades sociales a traves de las cuales se configuro el mundo civil en los paises caribenos. Analiza en detalle la musicalidad afroamericana, que facilito el reencuentro entre el canto y el baile que la separacion mente-cuerpo de la modernidad occidental habia lanzado por rumbos opuestos. Y presenta, a su vez, una historia social abarcadora de las musicas «mulatas» bailables, desde las primeras contradanzas y habaneras del siglo xix hasta el reggaeton de comienzos del xxi. En palabras de Anibal Quijano, «angel Quintero Rivera ha logrado ubicar en ese nudo que entrelaza todos los procesos, vertientes, caminos, herencias, utopias y proyectos, el origen y las peculiaridades musicales y danzantes de lo que llama las musicas mulatas, no solo sus conexiones sociales y politicas visibles».
Use the Books & Media tab on the Library homepage to search for books, or use the search bar below:
You can search across all of the Five Colleges, or narrow to only what's here at Amherst.
If you are working remotely, you may want to check the "Full Text (Digital)" box on the left side menu to limit your search results to electronic/digital materials only. See the Doing Research Remotely guide o learn more about off-campus access to library materials.
Five College libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System. Books are arranged by subject within each call number range. Browsing the book stacks may turn up relevant books you don't find in your catalog searches.
