Asian American & Pacific Islander Studies

Offers a range of primary sources—published and unpublished documents as well as images—that begin to fill in the picture of adoption’s past, illuminating topics, people, organizations, and studies that shaped adoption theory and practice during the twentieth century.

Archives and preserves the voices and stories of the Asian American and Pacific Islander communities during the COVID-19 pandemic for future generations.

A digital archive of Asian/Asian American contemporary art history.

Features more than 700 public radio and television programs from 1965 to 2021 that highlight Asian American and Pacific Islander cultures in the United States.

While the scope of the project encompasses diasporic and US born Asians across the United States, the primary focus of the archive is to document the history of Midwestern Asian American artists and arts organizations.

The mission of the project was to document the history of the Asian American Political Alliance (AAPA) through oral history interviews with key members of the UC Berkeley chapter.

Since the mid-20th century Minnesota's population has been augmented by successive waves of immigration, especially from Asia, East Africa, and Latin America.

The Dragon Fruit Project (DFP) was an oral history project initiated by Dr. Amy Sueyoshi and stewarded by Lavender Phoenix (then API Equality Northern California) from 2007 until 2021.

Documents the rich and vibrant stories of the diverse lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, asexual, intersex, and gender non-conforming Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and South Asian communities in Chicago.

Digitized materials from the University of Hawaii Manoa with a focus in maps, World War II, and anthropology.

A resource that provides students, researchers, journalists, and others with access to once-secret documents from governments, organizations, and individuals worldwide; includes Oceania collection.

Consists of several collections of photographs and scrapbook photo albums.

Contains many interviews and transcriptions from Pacific Islanders, many of whom moved to Utah.

Collects, documents, preserves, and highlights the recollections of Native Hawaiians and the multi-ethnic people of Hawaiʻi. We produce oral histories and interpretive historical materials about lifeways, key historic events, social movements, and Hawaiʻi’s role in the globalizing world, for the widest possible use.

A digital collection of material (photos, documents, letters, etc.) that documents the history of Iranian Americans in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Contains primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on World War II incarceration.

Collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience through exhibitions, public programs, and any other means for reaching the widest audience.

The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.

The Japanese-American Incarceration Camp Research Guide at San Diego State University features collections of primary and secondary sources which elucidate on the cultural, political, and historical aspects of Japanese-American incarceration during WWII.

Contains thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment, including: Personal diaries, letters, photographs, and drawings; US War Relocation Authority materials, including camp newsletters, final reports, photographs, and other documents relating to the day-to-day administration of the camps; And personal histories documenting the lives of the people who lived in the camps, as well as of the administrators who created and worked there.

Brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveals the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.

Oral histories of Korean Americans who represent their community’s tremendous expansion during the period after federal anti-Asian immigration laws were repealed in 1965.

Video interviews of first-generation Korean Americans and their families speaking about the Korean War.

This collection of video interviews with individuals from the diverse Chinese American community asked participants to reflect upon how their personal stories resonate with Chinese American history.

The San Francisco Chinese Community and Earthquake Damage album contains 223 photographic prints taken circa 1906.

Digital archive of the Punjabi community in California’s Sacramento Valley since the turn of the twentieth century in over 700 photographs, video interviews, music performances, and diaries.

Creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences. Contains oral histories, photographs, documents.

Represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history.

The Filipino American Library Collection consists of materials owned by the Filipino American Library in Historic Filipinotown that were transferred to the University of Southern California Special Collections in 2017.

The John Spoor Broome Library's Filipinos in Ventura County collection includes photograph images capturing the history of Filipinos and their contributions to the community from the 1900s to 1990s. Collection includes images of historical interest for the counties of Ventura, Santa Barbara, and Los Angeles.

At the University of Massachusetts, Lowell: seeks to collect, preserve, and share historical materials related to Southeast Asians in the Greater Lowell area, with particular focus on refugee resettlement and community building from the 1970s to the present.

Actively assembles, preserves, and disseminates the life stories of Vietnamese Americans in Southern California. The project contributes to expanding archives on Vietnamese Americans with the primary goal of capturing first-generation stories for students, researchers, and the community.

Seeks to collect, preserve, and share historical materials related to Southeast Asians in the Greater Lowell area, with particular focus on refugee resettlement and community building from the 1970s to the present. Our goal is to highlight Southeast Asian voices and viewpoints, and to educate the public about the resilience and diversity of Southeast Asian Americans.

Focuses on preserving and presenting the broad aspects of the Filipino American experience.