Asian American & Pacific Islander Studies

The Social Welfare History Archives (SWHA) at the University of Minnesota documents the history of human services, social issues, and the social work profession.

Its mission is to advance knowledge about the psychology of adoption through original research; mentor the next generation of adoption-competent researchers; engage with community partners to incubate and evaluate innovative programs that have potential for national impact; and provide research-based information to influence practice and policy at agency, state, federal, and international levels.

[at Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.]:The types of resources covered in this guide range from special collections containing photographs, diary entries, and recorded interviews to monographs, reference works, and serials.

At the National Archives in Washington, D.C. Includes online records, exhibits, blogs and articles, reference papers, public programs. Specializes in topics such as “Enforcing Immigration and Exclusion” and “Japanese Americans and World War II."

At UC Berkeley in Berkeley, California. The largest holdings of Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies related archives with over one hundred unique archival collections. Archives can be accessed on-site and is open to the public and campus community.

At New York University, NY. A/P/A collections are housed in multiple repositories within NYU Special Collections including Fales Library & Special Collections, Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, and New York University Archives. The Fales Library & Special Collections houses literary, artistic, and pop cultural collections. The Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives houses collections that document political and social movements.

In Mangilao, Guam. The Guam and Micronesia Reference Collection constitutes one of the most extensive repositories of Guam and Micronesia resources in the world. Its holdings number about 40,000 volumes on Guam, Micronesia and the Pacific. Included in the collection are 800 dissertations and theses, news clippings, brochures and ephemeral material related to the geographic region of Micronesia.

Has one of the richest and most varied collections of published works and primary source materials related to Hawai‘i and the Pacific.

Database searchable by name of early arrival records about the Chinese Exclusion Act and its successors (1882-1943), the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) investigated or interrogated most non-whites arriving or departing through the ports of San Francisco and Honolulu.

A grassroots community organization founded in Boston's Chinatown in 1977, the mission of the Chinese Progressive Association is to work "for full equity and empowerment of the Chinese community in the Greater Boston area and beyond." Additional materials are available at Northeastern University.

At the University of California, in Irvine, California. Broad and interdisciplinary in documenting the social, cultural, religious, political, and economic life of members of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora. Collection strengths include Southeast Asian American experiences of resettlement and community formations since the Vietnam War, Cambodian Genocide, and geopolitical turmoil in the former French-occupied "Indochina" in the latter half of the 20th century.

In Ann Arbor, Michigan. Consists of published works, manuscript items, and photographs documenting many aspects of Philippine history, with particular emphasis on the period between 1899 and 1913, when Dean Conant Worcester served as a member of the United States Philippine Commission and Secretary of the Interior for the Insular Government of the Philippine Islands.

In Saint Paul, Minnesota. Includes Archival Boxes, Audios, Books, Cards, Files, Maps, Newspapers, Objects, Periodicals, Photographs, Posters, Videos, and Works of Art.