Research Librarian
E-book Collections
- JSTOR e-BooksMore than 75,000 e-books from renowned scholarly publishers.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary e-book collection from leading university presses and academic publishers. Alumni access
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window70 reference e-books, including multivolume works like the Encyclopedia of Religion, American Decades, and more.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new windowOver 1,700 scholarly books, searchable fulltext.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowPreservation repository of full-text books & journals that allows comprehensive searching, downloading of public-domain books, and specialized services for text-mining projects. Choose Amherst College from the list of institutions to log in and get access to additional features and tools.
Finding Books at Amherst and in the Five Colleges
Use the main search box, Discover, on the Library homepage to search for books at Amherst and across the Five Colleges. You can filter your results by format (book, ebook, etc.) or filter by library location.
Use the Place Request button to have material delivered to Frost for pickup.
- Have a call number? Use our guide to Find it in Frost.
- Don't know what a call number is? See our guide on Using Call Numbers.
- Looking for a book not held in the Five Colleges? Use our Request Service.
Tip: Find books on film making
To find books on filmmaking, try searching for the following subject headings in the library catalog. You will notice other good subject headings as you go.
- Motion pictures--Production and direction
- Cinematography
- Motion picture authorship
- Motion pictures--Art direction
- Motion pictures--Editing
- Motion pictures--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Motion picture acting (see also Acting)
- Low budget motion pictures
- Motion picture industry--United States--Finance
- Motion pictures--Production and direction--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Television--Production and direction
- Video recordings--Production and direction
- Digital video--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Finding Books Beyond Amherst
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowPreservation repository of full-text books & journals that allows comprehensive searching, downloading of public-domain books, and specialized services for text-mining projects. Choose Amherst College from the list of institutions to log in and get access to additional features and tools.
- Folger Digital TextsReliable, expertly edited, free digital Shakespeare texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library for use by researchers for online reading, downloading, and searching.