Black Studies Research Guide

Extensive list of links to Black DH projects, many of which engage primary sources.

Includes: W. E. B. DuBois papers, Horace Mann papers, and the Antislavery Pamphlet Collection.

a free, searchable directory for online history projects that can help further Black History research. This ongoing project was created to collect information about these digital Black History projects in order to benefit historians, genealogists, and family historians who are researching the lives of Black individuals and families.

Catalog of public domain and openly licensed images and other digitized materials from archives, libraries, museums, and other U.S. cultural heritage institutions

Digital exhibitions, e-books, oral histories, event and lecture videos, podcasts and more from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

Collection of over 400,000 digitized sources in African American history, from more than 1,000 libraries, museums and archives.

A crowd-contributed archive of African American responses to the HIV/AIDS epidemic. It includes printed matter, posters, oral histories, and archival video.

Documentation of a 500-year historical narrative from the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.

The Black Feminist Digital Archive collects and describes materials related to black feminist organizations active in the U.S. from 1968 to roughly 1980.

"Digital portal centralizing materials created by professional organizations of African American educators, historically referred to as Colored Teachers Associations (CTAs). The primary holdings of the portal are 20th century serial publications by CTAs."

The Cornell Hip Hop Collection documents the origins of Hip Hop culture and its spread around the globe.

The Dodge Revolutionary Union Movement was formed in May, 1968 at the Chrysler Dodge Main Plant in Hamtramck, Michigan. Use the links under the "Collections organization" area of the page to access particular items in the collection.

Materials and oral hiistories by and about Black people in the Digital Transgender Archive.

A community-sourced collection of "digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014."

A collaboration between Cleveland residents and professional archivists, this site collects, preserves, and shares the stories, memories, and accounts of police violence as experienced or observed by Cleveland citizens.

Over 2,000 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former enslaved people, collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project. When using these sources, consult the contextualizing note "The Limitations of the Slave Narrative Collection" on the site.

The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his own freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher.

Database of over 30,000 ads seeking fugitive enslaved people. Searchable by geography, personal descriptors, date, and enslaver. Transcribed data may be downloaded.

Last Seen: Finding Family After Slavery aims to identify, digitize, transcribe, and publish ads placed in newspapers across the United States (and beyond) by formerly enslaved people searching for family members and loved ones after emancipation.

This collection from Cornell University includes pamphlets and leaflets documenting the anti-slavery struggle at local, regional, and national levels.

This collection explores linkages between women’s suffrage and other social causes of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries (anti-slavery, anti-lynching, education reform and civil rights) as well as racism within the Suffrage Movement.

The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.

Digital collections and a curated list of more specific websites from the Library of Congress.

From 1830 until the 1890s, already free and once captive Black people came together in state and national political meetings called "Colored Conventions." This project brings together digitized versions of proceedings, newspaper coverage, and petitions related to the Conventions.

More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts, including "official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more."

Oral history interviews focused on the Long Civil Rights Movement in the South, exploring three main issues: race and the public schools, economic justice, and gender and sexuality.

Interactive maps showing the historical geography of dozens of social movements that have influenced American life and politics since the late 19th century, including radical movements, civil rights movements, labor movements, women's movements, and more. This information can help you contextualize sources in archival and digital collections.

Historic materials including documents, photographs, oral history interviews, and audiovisual material hosted in digital collections at repositories across the country. Created with the participation of SNCC veterans.

Digital archive of the original reel-to-reel recordings that Warren compiled for each of his interviewees, as well as print materials related to the book of the same name, published in 1965.

Maps, oral histories, legal documents, books and other sources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.

Browse or search an open-source bibliography of digital resources resulting from—and meant for—the study of the Caribbean.

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Created by Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley.

The purpose of FUTURESLAB.COMMUNITY is to document shared memories, histories, and futures of communities in Brewerytown-Sharswood and the larger North Philly community.