Find images of works in museums by searching their online collection databases. Many also include additional contextual information about artists, art movements, materials, and techniques.
Five College Museums
Searchable database of catalogued objects from the collections of the Mead Art Museum at Amherst College, Hampshire College Art Gallery, Historic Deerfield, Mount Holyoke College Art Museum, the Skinner Museum at Mount Holyoke College, the Smith College Museum of Art, and the Museum of Contemporary Art at UMass, Amherst.
Feminist Art Base, Sackler Center for Feminist Art at the Brooklyn Museum
Profiles, images, audio and video of contributors to feminist art from the 1960s to the present.
Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield Museum Consortium collections database
Images and information about catalogued objects from the collections of the Mead Art Museum at Amherst College, Hampshire College Art Gallery, Historic Deerfield, Mount Holyoke College Art Museum, Joseph Allen Skinner Museum of Mount Holyoke College, the Smith College Museum of Art, and the University Museum of Contemporary Art at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
George Eastman Museum photography collections
Thousands of photographs spanning the history of the medium. Indexed by both photographer and subject. An attraction of worldly distinction is the museum's collection of photographic and cinematographic technology. Explore the Technology Vault and see the oldest known Daguerreotype Camera sold in the US circa 1840. https://www.eastman.org/technology
International Center of Photography (ICP) collections
Photographs and exhibition archives from this New York museum of photography and visual culture
Museum of Fine Arts Boston collections
Images and information about artworks and objects in the museum's collections.
Metropolitan Museum of Art collections database
Images and information about artworks and objects in the museum's collections.
The Studio Museum in Harlem Digital Collections
Images and information about artworks in The Studio Museum in Harlem’s permanent collection.
NY Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) collections database
Images and information about artworks and objects in the museum's collections.
Getty Open Content Images database
Digitized materials from the Research Institute's collection.
MoMA exhibitions archive online
Information, images, and digitized catalogs and gallery text from exhibitions dating from the museum's founding in 1929 to the present.
Winterthur Museum collections online
Records, images, dates, processes, materials used, and other historical information on items in the museum's collection of American furniture and decorative arts, dating back to back to the 1600s.
El Museo del Bario
Information and images of art and heritage items of Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino cultures, from pre-Columbian Taíno to contemporary arts.
Leslie-Lohman Museum of Art
Information and images of artworks from this collection, exclusively dedicated to LGBTQIA+ art and artists.
Walker Art Center Collections
Images and information about artworks and objects in the museum's collections.