Research Guides: European Studies Research Guide: Find Articles

Start With These

These core databases are good places to start! Find additional databases using the subject filter of the A-Z Databases list.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and cultural studies.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (1926 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers international journals in political science and its complementary fields.
Nexis Uni (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
Full-text federal and state laws, international legal materials, and law reviews. Also newspapers, business information, and company profiles.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 to present) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
ATLA Religion Database (1949 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals