Find Maps & GIS Data

The Amherst College IT Department guide to learning about maps and GIS data.

Print and digital U.S. geologic maps, many with downloadable data.

As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. Public access to high quality geospatial data from consortium of federal, state, and local partners.

Explore geospatial data and resources, including an interactive map of submerged land information, maps of air quality across the U.S., data on water resources, and more.

EROS is home to the world's largest collection of remotely sensed images of the Earth’s land surface and the primary source of Landsat satellite images and data products. NASA’s Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (LP DAAC) is also located at EROS.

MassGIS is the state’s one-stop-shop for interactive maps and geospatial data. You can view and explore our extensive library of map information in OLIVER and other web maps. GIS users can access data and web services for your software and applications. We also coordinate GIS activities in state and local government and set GIS data standards.

The Atlas of the Biosphere was created as a Masters Thesis project of the University of Wisconsin's Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE). The project goal was to provide information about the environment and human interactions with the environment. Includes downloadable data/maps about the environment, including land use, human impacts, ecosystems, and water resources.

The Alexandria Digital Research Library (ADRL) is UC Santa Barbara Library’s home for collections of digital research materials, including images, text, streamed media, and numeric and spatial data. This comprehensive digital library, when complete, will provide access to millions of hidden digital research assets in UCSB Library’s possession, and serve as a single search access point. ADRL builds on the expertise that UCSB developed in the 1990s with the Alexandria Digital Library (ADL), an online repository for geospatial information. The new ADRL is more diverse, covering multiple disciplines and types of information.

The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. A large collection of digital maps from around the world.

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.

Search or browse across multiple historical collections by geography and date. Includes over 400,000 maps.

Cartography and GIS within the field of ancient studies. The Ancient World Mapping Center is an interdisciplinary research center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Center promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities.