Frost Library holds a variety of physical maps in its collections, including atlases, flat maps, and wall maps.
Atlases are shelved with the main collections and can be searched using Discover. Many of the atlases are shelved in Oversize on C Level.
Search Tip: to limit your results in Discover to maps, add “cartographic material” to your search terms.
The Map Room, located on Level B, is home to the wall map and flat map collections. All wall maps are cataloged and can be searched using Discover. They are stored in special racks next to the map cases. The flat map collection is focused on geological, physical, and military maps; the flat maps are stored in the map cases and are arranged by geographic location. As most of the flat maps are not cataloged, please consult the Map Room Case Directory for information about where to find maps for specific areas.
The flat map collection includes the Army Mapping Service’s World 1:1,000,000 series (AMS 1301) in Map Case I, Drawers 8-10. The maps are filed by subseries (i.e., NA, NB, etc.). See this finding aid for a list of maps within each subseries.
Note: there are a small number of flat maps that have been cataloged and are searchable through Discover. They have a location of “Frost Map Room” and can be found in Map Case IV, drawer 11 (Dewey call numbers) and drawers 12-13 (LC call numbers). The folios from the Geologic Atlas of the United States are shelved in Map Case V. There are also a small number of books (mostly gazetteers) with a location of “Frost Map Room.” They are shelved by Dewey and LC call numbers on the wall shelves.
