It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dissertations are typically long, formal written works written by doctoral candidates. They cover highly specialized topics and can be challenging to obtain.
Will a dissertation be helpful to my research?
For many papers, a dissertation may be beyond the scope of your research, especially if there are other published materials available on your topic. You might find a dissertation useful if:
you are doing in-depth research for a thesis or a term paper
your topic is specialized
your research focuses on current or cutting edge topics
Dissertations also have exhaustive bibliographies, which makes them useful for identifying related works in your field.
How do I get a dissertation?
Before you try to get a complete dissertation, make sure you have read the abstract to be sure it will be appropriate for your research. Typically, dissertations are only held by the institution for which they were written and may not be available to borrow. Increasingly, dissertations are being made available online. Here are some options for getting a dissertation:
Includes nearly 3 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, offering full text for most of the 80,000 new dissertations added each year since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world
If you can't locate an electronic copy of the dissertation and it isn't available in the Five Colleges, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Adding to the Library Collection
If you want the Library to purchase a copy to add to our collection, request it via the Request Service and select the "Purchase" option
Finding similar materials
Often, dissertations are re-published as books, book chapters, or journal articles, depending on the discipline. Try searching for the author's name in the Five College Catalog or WorldCat. For articles and chapters, search by author in the appropriate subject database.