Research Guides: Reference: Encyclopedias and Databases

Online and in Print

Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Searchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
70 reference e-books, including multivolume works like the Encyclopedia of Religion, American Decades, and more.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Standard general encyclopedia.
Britannica Moderna This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language encyclopedia and dictionary.
JapanKnowledge Lib (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
Collection of dictionaries and encyclopedia, full-text articles, video files, maps, images.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Scholarly entries on all aspects of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Open access, scholarly surveys of all aspects of philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement This link opens in a new window
Covers all core social-science disciplines and presents a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarship and fields in the social sciences.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Scholarly surveys of all aspects of social sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies; our access includes Latino Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and other subjects.
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Scholarly surveys of authors, literary history, culture, and philosophy.

Government & Country Information

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Library of Congress: Country Studies
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world