Research Librarian
Find Images
Find images in books by searching the Five College Library catalog (see Tip below). The library also subscribes to a variety of image databases and is the home of Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC), a repository of images, texts, videos, and more from the Amherst College Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.
Access digital images through these library databases or online resources:
- Amherst College Art & Architecture Collection (now on JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowDigital image collection of high quality photographs for scholarship and teaching in architecture and the visual arts. This collection was formerly part of the Amherst College Digital Collections repository and is now hosted on JSTOR.
- ARTstor (now on JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowThe ARTStor Collections on JSTOR include images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
- Getty Open Content Images databaseDigitized materials from the Research Institute's collection.
Asia Art Archive
Leading public collection of primary and secondary source material about contemporary art in Asia.
Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art
Online exhibition hosted by the Huntington Archive. The exhibition includes objects and associated readings.
Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990
Produced by the Asia Art Archive, this collection includes archival materials, interviews, and documentary footage relating to Contemporary Chinese Art
Asian Historical Architecture
A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage.
Clark Center for Japanese Art and Culture collection at UC Merced
Japanese screen and scroll paintings, sculptures, prints, ceramics, textiles, metalwork and woven bamboo art, with works dating from the tenth century to the present day.
Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia
Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System (JAANUS)
Online dictionary of Japanese Architectural and Historical terminology
Tip: Searching for images in the Five College Libraries
Library records for books with illustrations contain the word "illustrations". Target illustrated works in a search of the Library catalog by including illustrations, “pictorial works”, plates, or “color plates” along with your other search term(s). For example, looking for images of birds? Search for birds AND illustrations.
For more about finding and using images, visit the Image Research guide.
Find Film, Video, and Art
Find DVD, Blu-ray, and VHS formats on A Level of Frost Library, behind the IT help desk. There are also viewing stations in this area, if you want to watch at the library.
Access streaming video through these library databases or online resources:
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowStreaming video spanning a wide range of subject areas and including documentaries, films, and demonstrations.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowBroad selection of thousands of streaming films, documentaries, and theatrical releases covering a wide variety of subject areas, with regular new releases and transcripts.
Tip: Searching for Film & Video in the Five College Libraries
Use the Books & Media tab on the Amherst Library Quick Search box to search for materials by keyword, title, author, or subject, making sure to include the format as a search term. Check Call Numbers and Availability to see where something's located and if it's currently checked out.