Research Librarian
Alana Kumbier
they/them or she/her
Contact:
Frost Library
413-542-5454
Subjects: Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations, Black Studies, Chinese, Classics, History, Japanese, Philosophy
Reference Sources
Below are links to reference sources and collections that are most useful for this subject:
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearchable index of the library's entire reference collection, both print and electronic.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window70 reference e-books, including multivolume works like the Encyclopedia of Religion, American Decades, and more.
Subject-Specific Reference Sources
Encyclopedias
Europe, 1450-1789 by Call Number: AC Frost Reference D209 .E97 2004Encyclopedia of European history from 1450-1789.
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment by Call Number: AC Frost Reference D769.8.A6 E64 2013
The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust by Call Number: AC Frost Reference D804.3 .N54 2000
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by Call Number: AC Frost Reference D804.25 .H66 2001
50 Events That Shaped American Indian History by Call Number: AC Frost Reference E77 .A125 2017Entries on selected events in American Indian history, with excerpts from primary sources and bibliographies for further reading.
The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890 by Call Number: AC Frost Reference E81 .E533 2011Publication Date: 2011-09-19Entries on Indian-settler conflicts from the 17th through 19th centuries. Volume III of this set compiles relevant primary source documents for further research.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Call Number: AC Frost Reference HV6322.7 .E532 2005
Modern Genocide by Call Number: AC Frost Reference HV6322.7 .M6295 2018Covers genocide in the 20th and 21st centuries.
Bibliographies
Where to find bibliographies by subject in Frost Reference:
- Holocaust: D 804.3 (multiple titles)
- Genocide in the former Yugoslavia and Rwanda: K 5302 .A12 Z39 2005
Tip: What are reference sources, and why would I use them?
Reference sources can include encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, handbooks, and atlases.
- They provide overviews of and background information on a topic
- They help you identify or refine your topic
- They provide quick, reliable facts
- They include bibliographies that will lead you to additional sources of information on your topic
You can find the Library's collection of reference books on Floor 1 of Frost. We also have many online databases that include collections of edited scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources.