JEL Classification
The Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) classification system uses alpha-numeric codes to organize scholarly literature by topic. JEL codes are assigned to literature in EconLit and can be used to search in that database.
Economics Databases
These core economics databases are good places to start!
- EconLit with Full Text (1969 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore source for economic literature, from the American Economic Association.
- EconPapersA search engine for RePEc (Research Papers in Economics), EconPapers provides the largest collection of citations to working papers and journal articles in Economics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)The NBER is a private, non-profit organization that provides access to its working papers and published books.
- Economics Research NetworkA subset of the Social Science Research Network: an archive of working papers and current research-in-progress.
Education Databases
For K-12 and higher education research.
- ERIC (1966 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore resource for research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
- Education Database (ProQuest) (1988 to present) This link opens in a new windowCoverage spans the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Newspaper Databases
For current and historical news articles.
- Access World News (Newsbank) (date coverage varies) This link opens in a new windowElectronic editions of over 2,600 local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as 1,500 international sources. Fully searchable and browsable by map.
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCore database for recent global news with archives back to the 1980s, including major US dailies and over 2,700 newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, blogs, and more.
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCombined search of the historic Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, South China Morning Post, Times of India, and Washington Post.
Psychology and Sociology Databases
For insight into the behavior of individuals and social groups.
- PsycInfo (1887 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, sociology, education, and other areas.
- Sociology Database (ProQuest) (1985 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
- Sociological Abstracts (1952 to present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.