Research Librarian
Alana Kumbier
they/them or she/her
Contact:
Frost Library
413-542-5454
Subjects: Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations, Black Studies, Chinese, Classics, History, Japanese, Philosophy
Start With These
For interdisciplinary research, try searching databases with articles by historians and by environmental studies scholars. These databases are good places to start.
Search tip: try adding keywords that align with your focus on the 19th century (like history, nineteenth, 19th, 1800s) to your search.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text back files of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities, socials sciences, & sciences as well as ebooks, primary sources, and image collections across multiple disciplines. The Amherst College Library provides Alumni Access to JSTOR.
- America, History & Life (1964 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new windowCore database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Web of Science (1984 to present) This link opens in a new windowSearch thousands of journals across the sciences and social sciences and track cited references to locate more recent articles. Amherst subscribes to the Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) (1960 to present) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database providing access to the international literature in agricultural and environmental science.
Tip: Peer-reviewed articles
Peer-reviewed articles are:
- written by experts in the field
- assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
- published in scholarly journals