User Experience Strategist
Sources and further reading
Asher, Andrew, and Susan Miller. “So You Want to Do Anthropology in Your Library? Or A Practical Guide to Ethnographic Research in Academic Libraries.” ERIAL Project, 2011. Accessed 31 Aug. 2016.
Braun, Virginia, and Victoria Clarke. Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners. 1st edition. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications Ltd, 2013. 78-81.
Creswell, John W. Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: Choosing among Five Approaches. 2nd edition. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, Inc, 2006.
Creswell, John W. Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches, 3rd Edition. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, Inc, 2008.
Flick, Uwe, ed. The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis. 1st edition. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications Ltd, 2013.
Given, Lisa M. The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications, 2008. 422.
Maxwell, Joseph A. Qualitative Research Design: An Interactive Approach. 3 edition. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, Inc, 2013.
Merriam, Sharan B. Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation. 3 edition. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2009.
Saldana, Johnny. The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. 3rd edition. Los Angeles; London: SAGE Publications Ltd, 2015.
Taylor, Celia, Ann Lewins, and Graham Gibbs. "What Is Qualitative Data Analysis (QDA)?" Online QDA Web Site. (2010). www.onlineqda.hud.ac.uk/Intro_QDA/what_is_qda.php. Accessed 9 Sept. 2016.
Available in Amherst's Collection
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by Call Number: AC Frost Stacks H61 .C73 2013Explores key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Relates research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry and compares theoretical frameworks, ways to employ standards of quality, and strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative, and verifying results.
Qualitative Research Design by Call Number: AC Frost Stacks Q180.55.M4 M39 2013Shows how the components of research design interact with each other, and provides a strategy for creating coherent and workable relationships among these design components, highlighting key design issues.
Qualitative Research by Call Number: AC Frost Stacks LB1028 .M396 2009Presents a practical guide to understanding, designing, and conducting a qualitative research study, as well as helps readers understand the theoretical and philosophical underpinnings of this research paradigm.
Successful Qualitative Research by Call Number: AC Frost Stacks H62 .B715 2013Provides a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. The authors walk you through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches.
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by Call Number: AC Frost Stacks H62 .S343 2016Comprehensive assessment of different coding types, examples and exercises. Guides you through the multiple approaches available for coding qualitative data. Provides information about the method's origin, gives a detailed description of the method, demonstrates its practical applications, and sets out a clearly illustrated example with analytic follow-up.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by Call Number: AC Frost Stacks H62 .S25 2014Presents general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. Includes traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Call Number: AC Frost Reference H61 .S234 2008Presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more.
