Find Articles - History - Africa and the Diaspora Research Guide

Research Librarian

they/them or she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Frost Library

413-542-5454

Subjects: Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations, Black Studies, Chinese, Classics, History, Japanese, Philosophy

These core databases for historical research are good places to start!

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (1955 to present) This link opens in a new window
Core database for scholarly literature about world history since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada).
Africa Knowledge Project (1999-Present) This link opens in a new window
Africa Knowledge Project disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and the African diaspora.
Black Studies Center (25,000 BC to present) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable gateway to black studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.

Publication Finder
Use this tool to search for journals by title. If Amherst has access to a journal, you will see ways to access its contents.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles of over two thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Alumni access
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951 to present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 3,000 journals and 7,000 books per year.
Annee Philologique (1959 to present) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and books about ancient authors, texts, history, art, and archeology.
Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies (formerly International Medieval Bibliography) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journal articles and books about Europe, North Africa, and the Near East from 300 to 1500.
Index Islamicus (1906 to present) This link opens in a new window
Covers literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa.

Peer-reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field (peer review)
published in scholarly journals