Research Guides: E-books: E-book Collections

E-book Collections

JSTOR e-Books
More than 75,000 e-books from renowned scholarly publishers.

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary e-book collection from leading university presses and academic publishers. Alumni access
Springer eBook/e-Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of Springer e-books (2005-) and e-journals. Alumni access
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Alumni access
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Scholarly surveys of authors, literary history, culture, and philosophy.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
70 reference e-books, including multivolume works like the Encyclopedia of Religion, American Decades, and more.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Over 1,700 scholarly books, searchable fulltext.
African Writers Series (ProQuest One Literature) This link opens in a new window
Complete texts of the Heinemann's African Writers Series.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of over 35,000 public domain books.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Preservation repository of full-text books & journals that allows comprehensive searching, downloading of public-domain books, and specialized services for text-mining projects. Choose Amherst College from the list of institutions to log in and get access to additional features and tools.

Historical Printed Materials (Book Collections)

Amherst College Digital Collections
Digitized manuscripts, books, art works, photographs, and other media from Amherst College Archives & Special Collections.
Chinese Philosophical EText Archive
Hosted by Wesleyan University, this online collection includes electronic versions of Chinese philosophical texts created by the Confucian Etext Project; electronic versions of Chinese philosophical texts from other sources; and information on and links to more information on the preparation and use of these texts.
Chinese Text Project
Focusing on pre-modern texts, open source digital library with over 20,000 titles

Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.
Early American Imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
EEBO: Early English Books Online (1473-1700) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) (1701-1800) This link opens in a new window
Page images and full-text searching for more than 136,000 key English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) (1780-1925) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable content from a broad range of 19th-century sources in literature, politics, theater, music, religion, maps, science, and childhood

Primeros Libros de las Américas
Digitized copies of first books printed in Mexico before 1601. These monographs represent the first printing in the New World.
Princeton Islamic Manuscripts Collection
Islamic manuscripts, chiefly bound paper codices, located in the Manuscripts Division of the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, at the Harvey S. Firestone Memorial Library at Princeton.