Archival Research

To search across the college’s digital and physical holdings, go to the Library Discover tool and navigate to the “Archives” tab. Physical materials can also be found directly through the ArchivesSpace database.

Our physical collection holds strengths in college and local history, 19th century missionary activity, Native American literature, theater history, international politics and diplomacy, and social justice and activism. 

Archival collections are described in individual finding aids, searchable in ArchivesSpace. Finding aids are guides written to help users discover, understand, and access archival collections. They describe the creation, arrangement, content, and context of archival materials.

Please keep in mind that finding aids are not exhaustive. If you have more questions about a collection after consulting the finding aid, you can reach out to archives@amherst.edu. 

The finding aid has a few important components:

1. Collection Title: Provides the creator or topic of the collection
2. Collection Identifier: Call number used by staff to find the material; please provide the archives staff with the collection identifier when placing a request
3. Collection Hierarchy: Shows what level of organization you are in the collection (e.g. collection, series, sub-series, section, item)
4. Collection Overview: Lists the creator of the materials, a brief description (abstract) of the collection contents, information about accessing the collection, the collection’s history, the size and extent of the collection (in boxes and linear feet), and language(s) represented in the collection
5. Collection Search: Lists the hierarchical organization of ‘series’ or sections of material, down to the individual file level. Allows you to search within the collection and limit by date.

By selecting a specific item on the right-hand menu, you can find its Box and Folder number either at the top of the page or under “Physical Storage Information.” Please provide the box and folder number when requesting specific materials.

The Purdue Archives & Special Collections provides a useful annotated finding aid that breaks down its individual elements in detail.

Amherst College Archives & Special Collections aims to describe materials in a manner that is respectful to the individuals and communities who create, use, and are represented in the collections we manage. 

When describing archival collections and the subjects they document, we rely upon professional standards and codes of ethics; conversations with donors; research into the individuals, communities, and topics represented in the collection; and departmental policies. The process of describing materials for access is iterative and requires continual engagement with core values and ethical obligations. We are committed to reviewing and repairing offensive description and are implementing practices to address harmful language as part of routine description work.  Revisions may include providing additional context and/or replacing terminology, and in cases of culturally sensitive information, may include permanent or temporary access restrictions.  

If you discover harmful or offensive language in our finding aids, catalog records, descriptive metadata for digitized items, or other content created by Amherst College archivists and librarians, please contact archives@amherst.edu. We welcome your feedback.