Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides | Library | Amherst College

Do Research Remotely

Search for Articles on a Topic

To find the most relevant journal articles, it's often best to start with the recommended databases for your subject area.

You can usually limit to full text, or see the whole range of results and then use the Check for Full Text button to check for full text.

You can also use Search Everything/Discover and limit to Full Text (Digital) and also Source Type: Academic Journals (be sure to use the Check for Full Text button to check for full text if it's not linked right in your results):

screenshot of a Discover search limited to Full Text and Journals

For a demonstration, watch this short video on how to limit to online content in our databases.

Find a Known Citation

If you use Google Scholar to search for articles, it won't know to provide Amherst links to our full-text subscriptions when you're off-campus.

Enable Library links in Google Scholar
Go to Settings > Library links and type Amherst into the box, then check Amherst College - Full Text Finder Results. This will trigger Amherst links to display on the right side of your results page.

Video directions for adjusting Google Scholar's library links 

Search for article or journal titles through the Library website

You can also use Search Everything to search for the article title, or search the Articles & Journals tab for the title of the journal:

journal search box on library website         journal locator search results for the title Daedalus

Video Directions for finding full-text from the Articles & Journals tab