Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides | Library | Amherst College

Do Research Remotely

Newspapers overview

This guide will help you find local, national, and international news sources in the Library collections. Newspapers can be tricky to track down. If you're looking for a specific one, use the Journal Locator to search it by title, and see what database it's in and for which years we have access.

For older newspapers, whether you'll be able to find online access depends on several factors. Publications before 1924 are in the public domain, which means copyright isn't a hurdle to digitization. Newspapers began to be published electronically in the mid-1980s and early 1990s, which is coverage in most of our "current" full-text databases begin. The largest national newspapers have generally been digitized retrospectively for their entire runs. But for smaller newspapers between those dates, you'll likely need to search WorldCat (limit by Serial Publications) to see if there are libraries that hold microfilm or print. Don't hesitate to ask about finding specific titles.

Historical Newspapers

These databases have collections of newspapers published generally pre-1990, often digitized from print or microfilm. They are searchable, but be aware that the results won't be as accurate as born-digital newspapers.

Current Newspapers

Find news and media sources from roughly the mid-1980s to today in these databases. You can also search for a newspaper by title in our journal locator.

Non-English Newspapers

Find news materials in other languages through these collections.